Becoming a caveman part 3: TOSPAD

17 Feb

“What’s this? I’ve lost weight!?! It’s not meant to work like that!!” I think to myself as I weigh in after week 2 at 94.4kg, half a kilo down from last week. So what’s going wrong?

Ok, this is not the end of the world and could be down to minor fluctuations in hydration levels, although its quite clear that I’m not piling on the pounds as I might have hoped.

I’ve been tracking my protein intake every day religiously and hitting a minimum of 230g per day. I’ve estimated my calorie intake to be in the region of 4,000-4,500 daily and my energy levels feel great and recovery from training Bjj and my gym sessions is as good as it ever has been. So I’m certainly not under eating. Also, I’m hitting the right time under tension in my workouts and seeing a progression in terms of strength.

Looks like I just need to eat more! One thing I have changed slightly in my second week is eating less sweet potato. Not intentionally cutting it out, although its the main difference I can think of. I’m hoping adding more good carbs to my eating will make a difference. So I’m going to go TOSPAD.

Huh?!? One common practice in building muscle is GOMAD, or Gallon Of Milk A Day. It’s very tempting to just throw in the towel and go diary. However, I really want to push the paleo thing. So I’m going to start eating a Ton Of Sweet Potatoes A Day, or TOSPAD. As you’ll guess ‘a ton’ is figurative and just means stuffing my face with the orange delights during as many meals as possible. Has to be worth a try.

2 Responses to “Becoming a caveman part 3: TOSPAD”

  1. Joe Notebaert February 18, 2013 at 9:16 am #

    I’m revamping my cookie recipe (to much omega 6 in Almond for my liking so subing new flours – flax, coconut) so once that is sorted I’ll post it. That will help keep the weight on!! However, all you are losing in my opinion is fat? What if you could drop a weight class down, and still get to eat as much as you want??? You would be a beast!

    • effectivehealthandfitness February 19, 2013 at 7:22 am #

      I’m trying to top up my omega 3 with oily fish and fish oil, I love my almonds 🙂

      It is tempting to drop down a weight a class. With my current weight I don’t need to worry at all about making weight, I’m always somewhere in the middle. Although like you say, I’d have a big advantage if I dropped down. Think I’ll make an assessment after the next couple of weeks of this experiment. If my weight doesn’t go up much then it could be my bodies way of saying I’m at my natural weight.

Leave a Reply

