Becoming a caveman part 2: Feeling full

10 Feb

After one week of eating paleo in order to build muscle mass, there is one over riding feeling I have, being full. I’ve been devouring food at a rate of knots and even though I feel great (i.e. not feeling sluggish), it’s hard to eat so much whole food. However, it seems to be working…

My weight after one week has gone from 93.6kg to 94.9kg. I weighed myself at the same time in the morning before eating for consistency, so a gain of 1.3kg is pretty good, I think. However, one data point does not make a trend, so what else has changed. I have added the odd half inch hear or there on the arms and chest etc with the most significant change being the drop in waist size from 35 inches down to 34.5 inches. So, using the very scientific method of logical thinking, if my weight has increased and my waist size has decreased, then my body fat must have decreased…….makes sense right? I don’t want to get too carried away with these early measurements, as I’m only one week in. That being said, it is great for the motivation to see these signs of progress. What else have I noticed? As I said in the intro, I feel full, oh so full.

I’m not new to bulking up, when I played Rugby my heaviest weight was 103kg and a body fat of about 16%. I had to eat like it was my job, tuna and pasta, spag bol, grilled chicken sandwichs at 10pm for a ‘snack’, weight gain shakes left, right and center. This time round I’m not eating bread, pasta or weight gain shakes (I am using hemp protein, more on that at a later date) and when I’m eating for sixth time in a day and  I realise I haven’t yet reached 223g of protein, it’s a case of firing up the stove and whacking on another salmon fillet or a few boiled eggs. This could be a good old case of memory bias, I just don’t remember finding it so hard to force down those final bites before.

There is definitely a positive to all this. As opposed to my days of egg chasing (on the field, not the kitchen) where I would have a lot of bloat and could often feel sluggish from all the food, I do honestly feel great eating paleo. Even with the level of food I’m eating, there is not the typical food crash, I seem to recover very quickly from my workouts and my overall general well being is probably the best it has been for a while. Placebo anyone? Maybe, all I’ll say for now is that I feel good, things are moving in the right direction and that’s good enough for me.

4 Responses to “Becoming a caveman part 2: Feeling full”

  1. Joe Notebaert February 11, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    Great! As your body does not have to fight a rising insulin level from grain, nor does it have to combat the glueten protein that your body views as an intruder, you should feel better.

    • effectivehealthandfitness February 11, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

      Great point. The whole digestive process is running far more smoothly and the lack of inflammation is probably helping with recovery.

  2. janberg February 16, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    Are you saying Paleo is making you feel better than just “eating clean”? If so, I need to get into Paleo too.

    • effectivehealthandfitness February 16, 2013 at 10:04 am #

      I would call it eating clean. You’re looking to eat ingredients that our bodies have evolved to eat. Even though grains and legumes could be called ‘clean’ there is a significant amount of prep needed before you can eat them and they can be very hard for your body to digest properly. These foods have been around since agriculture, a few thousand years, compared to hundreds of thousand of years for all the other foods. Out bodies are just used to them.

      I feel great eating like this and don’t feel like I’m depriving myself at all. So much good food you can eat following paleo.

Leave a Reply

